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Community Power Coalition of New Hampshire (CPCNH) Responses

NHPUC Docket: DE 22-060
Consideration of Changes to the Current Net Metering Tariff Structure,
Including Compensation of Customer-Generators

Public Service Company of New Hampshire d/b/a/ Eversource Energy (EE)
Set 1 Data Requests to CPCNH

Date Request Received: 2/6/24 Date of Response: 2/20/24
Request No. EE to CPCNH 1.2 Witness & Respondent: Clifton Below
REQUEST:

1.2. The cost used for RPS compliance in rebuttal testimony on Pages 4-6 is $0.008/kWh. Does
this figure include the annual RPS reconciliation factor that is applied to the RPS cost that is
ultimately applied to the default service rate? Has the $0.008/kWh also already deducted the
credit calculated by the NH DOE for all unregistered Class I and IT RECs?

RESPONSE:

No, not specifically. The $0.008 kWh figure is an estimate or approximation of the cost of RPS
compliance at the full 23.4%, 24.3%, and 25.2% requirement in statute for 2023, 2024, 2025 and
beyond. It does not expressly take into account the episodic annual reduction of the Class III
requirement by up to 7.5%. However, the issue at hand is what will apply going forward for new
net metered generation over the next approximately 20 years that the NEM 3.0 rate structure may
be in effect with grandfathering that most of all parties seem to support and the statute and PUC
have provided for with NEM 1.0 and 2.0 respectively. I believe it is much more likely than not
that the arc of public policy in New Hampshire will trend to tightening and extending RPS
requirements beyond 25% within the next decade and almost certainly within the next 20 years.
After all, most of the nations of the world, at least 130 of them, agreed at COP 28 to commit to
tripling renewable energy capacity by 2030. If we are at 25% today, as nominal NH RPS
requirements would seem to suggest, then tripling by 2030 would suggest an RPS requirement of
75% by 2030. If we are only at 15% today because of Class IIIl REC requirement reductions by
NH DOE and unregistered Class I and II “RECs,” which may mostly offset load behind the
meter, then tripling that would suggest an RPS compliance obligation at 45% by 2030.

To the extent the credit for unregistered Class I and II RECs in not reflected in the roughly
$0.008/kWh cost to achieve 23% to 24% compliance, | would note that there has been legislation
in recent years to not allow such a credit (or “REC sweeping”), such as HB 168 in 2021 that had
a 12-9 split vote between “Inexpedient to Legislate” and “Ought to Pass,” but never came to the
floor for a vote because of the Covid-19 pandemic. A fairly modest political shift, which began
in 2022, could reverse that result. The extent of the value of this credit may also be overtaken by
1) increasing RPS compliance obligations, and 2) either a reduction in the proportion of new
generation that doesn’t produce RECs and much more new net metered generation larger than
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100 kW that does, of which there is great deal in the interconnection queue of Eversource, and/or
exclusion of behind-the-meter consumption from REC generation or inclusion of such
consumption in the compliance obligations.

Here is a table illustrating the RPS requirements in New England':

Renewable Energy Is on the Rise

State policy requirements are a major driver -

State Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS)*
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Notes: State RPS requirements promote the development of renewable energy resources by requiring electricity providers (electric distribution companies and competitive
suppliers) to serve a minimum percentage of their retail load using renewable energy. Connecticut’s Class | RPS requirement plateaus at 40% in 2030. Maine’s Class I/IA RPS
requirement increases to 50% in 2030 and remains at that level each year thereafter. Massachusetts’' Class | RPS requirement increases by 2% each year between 2020 and
2024, 3% each year between 2025 and 2029, reverting back to 1% each year thereafter, with no stated expiration date. New Hampshire's percentages include the
requirements for both Class | and Class |l resources (Class Il resources are new solar technologies beginning operation after lanuary 1, 2006). New Hampshire's Class | and
Class Il RPS requirements plateau at 15.7% in 2025. Rhode Island’s requirement for ‘new’ renewable energy reaches 100% in 2033. Vermont's ‘total renewable energy”
requirement plateaus at 75% in 2032; it recognizes all forms of new and existing renewable energy and is unique in classifying large-scale hydropower as renewable.
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In this context, it is also important to note that the CPCNH proposal is to reduce the
compensation rate for the energy portion of exports to the grid by customer-generators on utility
default service to the “Base Energy Service Rate” (adjusted for average line losses on the
distribution grid between the location of NM exports to distribution grid and the load it offsets on
the distribution grid), which, in addition to RPS compliance costs, includes an RPS reconciliation
adjustment factor, an energy service reconciliation adjustment factor, an A&G adjustment factor,
and a working capital adjustment factor. None of this factors relate to the actual value of the
kWh exported to the grid by customer-generators, rather they relate to the consumption and
administration of default service energy. The sum of all these factors in the current Eversource

! From presentation by ISO New England President and CEO Gordon van Welie, 8/21/23 to NEPPA Annual
Meeting found here: 8-21-neppa-keynote-gvw-isone.pdf (iso-ne.com).
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large customer group (Rates LG and GV) is $0.03675 or more than 4.5 times the $0.008 amount
assumed as undue costs shifting in my rebuttal testimony. Perhaps using this rate, an actual delta
between NEM 2.0 and CPCNH’s proposed NEM 3.0 rate, would be more appropriate for the
illustration of potential excess undue compensation for a large customer-generators producing 7
million kWh/year that would total a cost of $256,900 in undue cost shifting, not just $56,000.

Finally, I would note that there is a very large number of potential new net metered generation
resources in the Eversource interconnection queue with a reported 365 MW of new DG pending
interconnection approval as of August 2023% compared with 25 MW installed in 2021, 32 MW
installed in 2022, and another 26 MW installed during the first 8 months of 2023°.

2 Bversource response to CENH 1-001 d, dated 10/12/23 in this docket.
3 Eversource response to CENH 1-001 c.
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